Ataraxia

an EP by Luke


 

This is an EP I worked on from late May to early September. It has three tracks, an intro, and an outro.  The song includes a very calm, sedate atmosphere and is a different kind of music than I’ve seen most people making. It features simple, repeating melodies on piano, strings, xylophones, and distorted electronic organs. There are no bass elements throughout the project, and it uses lots of foley and ambient noise to create a world around itself. I titled it ‘Ataraxia,’ which means “a state of serene calmness.” This project explains my imagination much better than I could ever verbally explain it. Even though the melodies may be simple, it’s something I’m very proud of, and I think it’s a great starting point to get better at writing music. This project explains my imagination much better than I could ever verbally explain it. It’s something I’m passionate about, and I hope you enjoy it.

 

I used Ableton Live 10 to write and produce this EP and used my phone to record the ambient noise. This EP was inspired by many things, including but not limited to:

 

  • A trip to the west coast I took last summer
  • doin’ fine’s album ‘how to be someone else’
  • A concept my friend Danilo and I came up with
  • Music by Laptop Funeral, Bassnectar, G Jones, Virtual Self, Joji, Twenty One Pilots, Porter Robinson, San Holo, Dorphex Bos, Eprom, Flaws, Analogue Dear, Marcioz, Nigel Good, DROELOE, Varien, Skrillex, Idealism, Eevee, The Voidz, Two Door Cinema Club, Joywave, Nigel Stanford, etc.
  • Being alone
  • My family

Link to EP:  https://fanlink.to/ataraxia .

Luke is a junior.

Leave a comment