Hidden, Not Yet Lost

a spontaneous poem by Serena

Behind that veil, something lies,

Something too gruesome for your eyes,

For when you lift the veil, you realize

It’s your own self leaving you paralyzed.

Serena is a 15-year-old freshman. She enjoys writing but was previously not interested in poetry until her Creative Writing teacher, Ms. DiOrio, introduced her to styles like limericks and haikus.   She says, “My writing doesn’t come from some random place. It takes me time to think of exactly what I want to say, but sometimes, especially when I want it the most, inspiration won’t come. I like focusing on things that matter in today’s society or what matters in my own heart.”

Leave a Reply

