Ache

a villanelle by Alyssa

I can’t do this anymore;

Sorry that I feel this way,

But I HAVE to cut you out.

 

I love you more than you will ever know,

And yet you crush my frangible heart, aware of that fact or not.

I have to cut you out.

 

There’s this constant pressure on my chest

That shall never blanch.

I can’t do this anymore.

 

You barely know her,

Though she is constant object of your affection…

I have to cut you OUT!

 

Your hope for another is a fool’s paradise,

Still I feel it inside me like a foreign parasite draining my life force!

I CANNOT DO THIS ANYMORE!

 

I can’t do this anymore,

Yet I cannot let you go.  

I have to cut you out

But a mere sliver of reverie has me faltering time and time again.

Alyssa is in ninth grade.

Leave a Reply

