Breathe In, Breathe Out

a spoken word piece by Sam, who read this piece at the Candlelight Vigil on January 13th, 2016

CV Sam

Breathe in, breathe out. The violence is outside and I am in.

Breathe in breathe out nobody can hurt me.

The TV flickers on and  my hands begin to shake.

Breathe in breathe out the violence is inside too now what do I do?

Why is there pain everywhere I go? The pain is never ending.

I want to go to the movies to escape the pain but I can’t take the chance.

I can’t go to to the mall because the saying “Shop until you drop” may become real.

More people shop and drop dead from the bullets that get shot to their head.

When did this get so bad? I have to breathe but the air gets stuck in my throat.

I am suffocating.

I once went to school excited to learn, 
And now I am scared our lockdown drills will no longer be drills.
Us hiding from the villains and I want to run for the hills.
Breathe in, breathe out. What are we supposed to do now?

I think I know.

If we all gather just like this, we can work together to stop the pain.
Life is not a game, you can’t restart and get another life.
But we still have ours and this game isn’t over yet.
If what we do now is not working, well, maybe it’s time to change tactics.
It is never too late to let love in, love will always win.
Breathe in, breathe out. We will be okay.
Breathe in, breathe out and don’t forget to say I love you.
Breathe in, breathe out, grab someone’s hand and don’t let go.

Breathe in, breathe out. Don’t forget to let love in. Love will always win.
There are stormy days, but you can’t forget the sunny days and your sun-kissed skin and when it’s pouring out maybe it’s time to step outside and dance in the rain.
You can’t forget the feel of the sun touching your skin, you can’t forget that darkness is real but so is light.
And I promise you there is light at the end of this tunnel.

We are our own heroes and it’s time to end this fight.

The world is filled with many things, whether it’s monsters under our beds,

Or it’s the voices in our head.
One thing is always certain, one thing we cannot forget.
We are stronger than the monsters under our beds
And we are smarter than the villains who have left so many dead.

Breathe in, breathe out.

You have to choose to let love in.

Breathe in, breathe out. We will be okay.

Leave a Reply

