Dark Whisperings

a spoken word piece by Alyssa

 

You’ve had your fun.

All day you’ve been here, PESTERING ME.

Now it’s time to go, crawl back to the depths you came from.

I DON’T WANT YOU.

How am I supposed to sleep with you floating aimlessly about?

I am exhausted, and tired, and stressed, and now I’m crying because I can’t control you.

I can’t take this anymore, GO AWAY!

I can hear the harshness of your laughs, degrading me.

The sadness in your cries, THE DESPERATION IN YOUR SCREAMS.

I sob.

I shiver.

Tear the hair from my head, as paranoia seeps into my bones, chilling me.

You’re not in my head.

I can HEAR you.

Why can I hear you?

There’s no one here with me.

I

SHOULDN’T

HEAR

YOU,

But I do.

And I can’t seem to decipher what’s real anymore.

I take my mental remote, and press pause, a button long since broken.

The silence never seems to last.

With the limited time I have, I sit my head on my pillow.

Close my heavy eyes, dry and bloodshot with panic.

And then the voices return.

EXEMPLIFYING MY ANGER.

DESCRIBING THE STRENGTH AIDING MY FURY.

And I listen, intently, no energy to resist.

Fatigue overcomes the voices.

And I spend the little sleep I will have listening to

DARK WHISPERINGS.

 

Leave a Reply

