Boomer

a haiku series
by Shawn

Waiting at the stairs,
He wags his tail, excited
To see me come home.

Summer comes, sun strong.
He sheds like a snake, old skin.
Dark fur turns to light.

His bark is so fierce,
But his bite isn’t as strong,
Like teething puppies.

Sleeping at my feet,
A warm brown ball of soft fur.
His presence comforts.

Winter’s here.  Snow falls
As Boomer jumps, rolls, and plays:
Energetic dog.

Shawn is a senior.  He says, “My inspirations include my dog, on whom these poems are based.  I’ve been writing for a while now, but this is the first piece I’m submitting to be published. I used the haiku structure for this series.”

Leave a Reply

