Not Affectionate

A poem by Sherwin

She placed her fingers on my cheek,
And I watched as her lips disappeared,
Replaced by her perfect white teeth,
And a small but charismatic smile form.
Yet I swore I was not affectionate.

Her hair slowly fell over her eyes,
And I had no choice but to fix it.
What was behind the hair
Were two gates that seemed to lead on to infinity.
Yet I swore I was not affectionate.

She moved closer to me,
But slow enough for me to not notice,
That within one inch of my lips,
Was everything that I ever wanted.
Yet I swore I was not affectionate.

And then our lips met,
With an earth- shattering sound that no ear could hear,
With a trembling force that my nerves could not feel,
And it seemed that everything was the way it should be.
And in that moment,
I had no choice but to give in to my affection.

Sherwin is a freshman in the STEM Academy. He says, “My favorite subject is English. I have been creating personal pieces for more than two and a half years now. I mostly draw inspiration from my surroundings and my emotions. My usual writing process is to start with a rough draft, and then wait a day later to revise/edit so I have a fresher and more sober mind to determine whether or not my writing was good. Most of my pieces are poems, however occasionally I will write short stories and essays.”

Leave a Reply

