The Gargoyle

a free verse poem

by Nick

I feel the aura of others and embrace them,

A blessing and a curse all in one.

All their fears and miseries fill my lungs and are converted into pure love for all the world to take.

Laughter fills the air,

My soul rejuvenates itself.

As long as there are smiles on people’s faces a never ending cycle is created,

Frictionless,

Constantly moving.

But when time does come to a stop

I become a gargoyle,

Also frozen in time,

Always watching,

Keeping everyone away from danger.

I am a protector.

Nick is a senior at Edison High School.   He says, “I don’t write often, but when I am motivated to do so in creative writing class I enjoy it thoroughly.”

Leave a Reply

